My OverView of Social Dilemma

Pedro Teixeira
3 min readNov 14, 2020

--

Photo by Maximalfocus on Unsplash

Social dilemma is wrapped up.

The Social Dilemma is a 2020 American docudrama film directed by Jeff Orlowski and written by Orlowski, Davis Coombe, and Vickie Curtis. The film explores the rise of social media and the damage it has caused to society,

After having more than ten different people advising me to watch this film, I finally spotted a gap to give it a go.

Damn, what an Impact that was. Netflix really knows how to create a massive impact on documentaries, but I still wonder if it will change anything.

While studying marketing and busyness analysis, I related with this documentary, this reality where humans slowly are being dominated by a gigantic machine getting smarter every day.

I was so happy that finally, someone could talk about this subject, and a massive shout out to the people who daily fight to change the inevitable.

I genuinely believe that the creators of AI were not aware of the danger this might have brought in the beginning, and then when they finally realize the threat, it was just too late.

It’s funny when we always think we have a choice, while an algorithm is manipulating our emotions. It’s nothing to feel embarrassed about, but AI outplayed us.

The choice is not there any longer; unfortunately.

The algorithm determines the way we dress, the way we speak and with who we communicate with; we can’t even choose our surrounding, but we are too proud or too blind to believe in what’s happening. In the end, we still think we have a choice.

The impact on the child’s

All kind of companies is using the same egoistic strategy. User-centred strategies they say.

I feel sorry for the teenagers of this generation that grew up in a tech society and couldn’t see the real and beautiful colours of this world.

The world without a cell phone was beautiful then, even if we couldn’t take that fantastic capture, our brain would do that for us.

How can a simple emoji, or comment create so much damage on a child?

Because they are dealing with emotions that don’t even know that exist. Simple as that.

Some people daily die, old, without even knowing who they really are, and companies already want to put the pressure on kids to be socially accepted. Shame.

Who to blame?

It is difficult to say whose fault is. We can’t blame on someone that thought it was making a better world.

Technology is still helpful and makes our life easy; but nobody expected that would become such an addiction. It is a horrible drug.

I find myself trying to control this addiction every day. I go to sleep later than I should because of it, I can’t focus two hours straight without checking if I have any notification. I fall into YouTube “Rabbit holes” for hours instead of enjoying a sunny day.

What’s the solution?

Drama is the solution. We, as a society, need to create drama. The system needs to be changed entirely, and new rules are mandatory.

The kids of today shouldn’t deal with this horror.

Parents shouldn’t see their kids falling into depressions.

Like every drug, it should be illegal.

Yes, illegal. The goal is not helping users any longer. The goal is not creating value to users.

Big enterprises are more focused to get people attention that providing any kind of value. They will make features more flashy, more colourful, just to grab your attention.

I hope for a brighter future in ten or twenty years, and my hope will be the last one dying, but we, as a society, need to start taking some action.

And please, if not seen yet, try to watch Social Dilemma ASAP.

--

--

Pedro Teixeira

If you come in seek of knowledge let me stop you right there! Just joking, welcome aboard and join me on my daily writing …